It’s here! The Banana & Avocado Chocolate Chip Muffin recipe!

30 Sep

Hello, friends. I hope you’re enjoying your Sunday. First of all, I should apologize for taking my sweet time getting this recipe out to y’all. Unfortunately, I misplaced the recipe and couldn’t remember it off of the top of my head. So, yesterday morning, I proceeded with what I thought was the recipe and it was a success. Score! So, without further delay, here you go!!!

Oh, and side note! I actually also made a batch with peanut butter and no choc chips and those were my fav (I’m a huge pb fan, but not always chocolate in baked goods. I know, I know. I’m a weirdy.)! Plus, I feel a bit better about eating ’em for breakfast all week sans chocolate!

Banana & Avocado Chocoalte Chip Muffins

yields 12 muffins

  • 1.5 cups rolled oats
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 very ripe bananas
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter (use the kind that is just peanuts, and maybe salt. Avoid those with added oils and preservatives!)
  • .5 cup mini or regular chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat oven to 375*. Combine all ingredients into large bowl and mix thoroughly until all is combined. Let sit for about 5 minutes. I read that letting oats rest when you use them in baking helps them “set up” a bit. Not sure that it’s necessary, but it sure can’t hurt.

While you are looking for something to happen to those oats in the 5 minutes you’re supposed to wait, go ahead and either line your muffin pan with liners, or grease your pan. You should know that, if you use paper liners, these will stick because you aren’t adding oil to help them keep off. That doesn’t bother me, but if it does you, just grease your pan!

Next, scoop 1.5 tablespoons of your mixture into each spot of your muffin tin. Bake for 20-30 minutes. Mine took about 23 minutes. I recommend checking at 20 minutes and going from there. They should brown slightly on top and come clean when a toothpick is inserted into the center of the muffins.

These are really yummy muffins that I love as breakfast treats or snacks after a workout. You should, however, note that these are fully sugar and flour free so they aren’t your standard Betty Crocker muffins. They are far denser and a bit more “savory”, I suppose. If you crave something more in these, try adding a teaspoon of sea salt (I just like to keep sodium as low as possible when I’m cooking at home.) or a couple tablespoons of maple syrup for sweetness. In my first batch, I actually sprinkled raw sugar over the tops before baking. This provided a sweet little crunch on the top after they baked. So, I totally recommend that if you aren’t going sugar-free at the moment.

There you go, friends. Let me know what you think if you try these at home. I actually had 3 of these lovelies yesterday before I headed out for RIPPED and Zumba (2 hours of group fitness!!!), and they held me over until lunch time. How awesome!!!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday. I’ll catch-up with you again soon!!! 🙂

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

