End of summer cleaning!

22 Aug

Hola chicos. Today, I come to you with news of some end-of-summer cleaning. The cleaning I’m talking about doesn’t involve my broom, organization, or scrub, scrub, scrubbing. Instead, this cleaning involves giving my body a break and hopefully cleaning up my insides. That’s right! I’m on a cleanse! What, what?! This is not something I’m super excited about (although I am faking it a bit for this post…). I mean, I love the idea of cleansing, but going days with juices and raw veggies isn’t always the most pleasant and scrumptious experience. But, it’s important to my overall health and wellness, so I push through. I’m actually joining Jodi over at Ultimate Kitchen Commando on her cleanse that kicked off today. When she mentioned via Facebook a couple days ago that she herself was starting a cleanse and hoped to get people on board with her for motivation and support, I was in. It’s been a very long time since I’ve given my body a break.

Jodi sent all of us cleanse participants an outline of the cleanse she is doing to give us ideas for what we might want to do. How nice! She will be juicing and making green smoothies to drink throughout the day. Mid-afternoon, she’ll have a large raw salad for lunch. Other than that, it’s warm lemon water, clay and psyllium husk drinks, and colonics.

I have to admit, as much as my life is so much cleaner and healthier than before, I just don’t hang with the most intense of raw vegans and juice kings yet. That said, I’m adjusting my cleanse just a tad to fit ME! Remember, we’re all very very different and there really isn’t a one size fits all solution for anything related to diet and health. YOU must do what is right for YOU!

Lemon water – Either warm or room temp. No cold water here! Definitely first thing in the morning, then throughout the day to get my hydrated and stimulate lymph drainage (cleansing!!!) I’ll also have some cold water while I’m at work. I work with kids and spend most of my working times chasing them around a gymnastics gym or playing games outside in the 90 degree heat. Cold water is a must for me! 🙂

Smoothie – I’ve got pineapple, strawberries, bananas, and lots of greens on hand for this. For my liquid, I’ll try sticking to water and will add a little unsweetened almond milk if needed. I also plan to incorporate 1/4-1/2 of an avocado once I can get to the store to get some. This should have to keep me satiated after my smoothie meal.

Green juice – I am not a big juice fan. I like something thicker and more fibrous, which is why I typically stick to smoothies. But, drinking juice shoots nutrients straight into your blood without much work from your body, so I am going to try hard for one a day, at dinner time. I’ve got greens, cucumbers, apples and carrots on-hand for this now. I plan on stocking up more once I figure what best suits my tastes.

Salad – Lunch will most definitely a honkin’ salad. I’ve got spring mix, arugula, and spinach on hand to build upon. I also have broccoli, mushrooms, carrots, and cucumbers on-hand. Dressing will be a vinaigrette of olive oil and lemon or lime juice.

If I feel super hungry/munchy, I will snack on a small amount of raw nuts – walnuts or almonds. Hopefully I won’t have to reach for these guys much!

I anticipate missing coffee most. And, to be honest with you guys, I did have 1/4 cup this AM. Ahhhh!!! It’s almost silly to have so little, but it helped me through the morning with just my smoothie and lemon water. Hey! I’m not perfect, but I sure try to be better than I was yesterday! 🙂

On the clay and colonics side of things, I’m not going there just. I have done clay drinks in the past and think there is some legitimacy to the health and detoxification claims, but I don’t feel that I necessarily need to add that just yet. I’ll listen to my body and proceed accordingly. Also, no colonics. Again, I’m just not there yet; nor do I have the disposable income to fork out for ’em. Maybe one day. 😉

As I proceed with the cleanse, I plan on getting pictures of the different smoothies, juices, and salads I come up with to share with each of you. We’ll see how it goes. I haven’t attempted anything like this since being married, and already I see additional challenges trying to alter my diet at all with a husband in the house. He wakes up and has a bagel with cream cheese as I run the Vitamix and chug down a smoothie. It can be challenging my friends. But, I will survive. And, perhaps I’ll even motivate him in the process, right?

Well, thanks for listening to my little cleanse rant/announcement. I’ll keep you posted on my ability to maintain my sanity, errr…complete the cleanse!  Below are some links to cleansing, smoothie, juicing information that I like. I figured I’d share in case you’re interested in some of the points I hit on above. Until later my friends! 🙂

Fit Sick and Nearly Dead (movie – available on Hulu)

Green Smoothie Girl

Why You Should Drink Warm Lemon Water

In closing, I wonder – Have any of YOU completed a cleanse? What did you do? How did you feel? Would you do it again? I want to know!!!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

