White Bean Egg Salad

9 Aug

After the success I had with pureeing white beans for my creamy White Bean and Roasted Garlic Pasta Sauce, I decided I totally had to use bean purees more often. Also on my mind has been egg salad. Egg salad – well, eggs really – is a weird thing for me. On about 320 days out of the year, I will tell you that I don’t much care for it. On the remaining 45 days, I’m probably obsessively craving it. Weird, right? Well, the past week has been 7 of the 45 days down on the obsessive craving side of things. When it came to satisfying this craving, rather than just tossing eggs with mayo and mustard as I’ve done all of my life, I decided to give things a whirl with a white bean base. This spiffy update to a classic reduces the empty calories, saturated fat, and cholestoral in the traditional egg salad and replaces those “undesirables” with protein, fiber, manganese, iron, and potassium. Doesn’t that sound about a million times better? If you’re at all concerned with clean, healthy eating, then that’s a big ol’ YES!

So, here’s the scoop:

White Bean Egg Salad

Servings:  (We haven’t eaten it all, but think I can probably get 6-8 sandwiches or salads out of this)

  • 10 hard boiled eggs – de-shelled (If you’re new to hard boiling eggs, I’d recommend consulting Martha Stewart’s directions for perfect hard boiled eggs. She’s got it figured out!)
  • 1 can of white (kidney) beans
  • 2 tsp Wildtree Dill Blend (or some sort of herb blend with dill, or fresh dill)
  • 1 cup H2O
  • 1/2 onion finely chopped (optional)

Drain and rinse your canned white beans. Pour beans into blender. Add Dill Blend to blender. Turn blender on high. Pour water in to thin out the mixture to your desired consistency. (I used about 3/4 of a cup and mine’s pretty thin. Go with what you like!) After all is combined, pour mixture into a large bowl.

Roughly chop all of your boiled eggs (be sure they are free of any shell pieces, or you’ll have a disaster later when you eat this stuff!) and add them to the bowl with your white bean mixture.

Lastly, add your chopped onion (optional) to the bowl with eggs and white bean mixture. Stir all to combine. Refrigerate for about 30 minutes, then serve.

Nom, nom, nom!!! 🙂

When I started boiling the eggs yesterday, my plan was to make two batches of egg salad – 1) traditional mayo-based for him and 2) beany version for me. However, to my surprise, Mr. Military Man actually LIKED my version and suggested that I make all of the egg salad my beany way. How exciting! He’s pretty great about eating clean and trying healthified things, but I didn’t expect him to like this. Guess I really am on to something good here!!! *happy dance*

So, with that, I’d encourage you to try this. And, try feeding it to your significant others and children. Perhaps everyone will love this MUCH HEALTHIER version of an American sandwich filling!

In other news, I have lots to share regarding dog training, my new fitness regime and goals, and life since leaving my corporate job. I just need more time to blog – and that’s a good thing. Life is full full full of great things and I couldn’t be more thankful. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen things that way! 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your Thursday. Hopefully, unlike mine, yours is filled with warmth and sunshine!

Toodles!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

