Creamy Chipotle Lime Dressing

19 Jun

Another note to start:  WordPress is still giving me gobs of trouble when uploading photos, so we have only one. Someday, I’ll figure this out and share the 6 additional photos I have. Regardless, try this dressing on your next southwest inspired salad. You won’t regret it! 🙂

I admit it. I am totally a creamy salad dressing girl. Yes, yes. I know that the whole oil and vinegar route is touted as being much healthier. But, c’mon. Veggies covered in ranch or blue cheese are just about a million times better. Duh! That said, I don’t exactly walk around eating ranch dressing on the regular anymore. I tend to be pretty aware of what I eat and standard, store-bought dressings don’t make me feel all warm and fuzzy (partially hydrogenated mystery oils, preservatives, GMOs…ick!). So, I created a solution that satisfies my creamy dressing craving while maintaining my waistline and my conscience. This dressing comes together in about 30 seconds and requires only 3 ingredients. Woot! So what are you waiting for? Throw your salad in a bowl and top it with this dressing. Stat!

Creamy Chipotle Lime Dressing

  • 2 very hefty tbsp unsweetened Greek yogurt (I prefer Fage.)
  • 1 tbsp chipotle Tabasco sauce
  • the juice of one small lime

Mix all three ingredients together in a bowl until combined. Pour over your salad. Enjoy!

Could it really be easier than that? And, it’s so so so perfect on my southwestern salads loaded up with corn, black beans, cucumbers, avocado, and onions. Creamy, a tad spicy, and a little bit tart. Total keeper!

In other news, it is now 6:37 in the AM and my dogs are playing with the squeaky toys like it’s their job. Why the heck do manufacturers make these squeaky toys SO LOUD? Is this really necessary? Yes, I hear my dog playing with the squeaky toy. Yes, it’s annoying. We just don’t need to turn the volume up to 11 . Sheesh!

So far, we have sun today (it’s been raining and raining and raining lately) so I’m hoping for a beach day today. I have my aunt and little brother in this weekend, so I’m excited to show ’em around. Hopefully we’ll see dolphins. *fingers crossed*

With that, I’m off. Time for some coffee and a bowl of this amazeballs hemp granola I found at our co-op. Nom nom! Happy Saturday y’all. 🙂

 

One Response to “Creamy Chipotle Lime Dressing”

  1. Taylor Caraway June 19, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    This sounds really goodn I love creamy dressing too. Nice way to spruce up a regular salad!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

