Life doesn’t happen by chance. It happens by change!

16 May

Some may recall reading in previous posts about my dissatisfaction with my current career. I work for a great company and with some awesome people, but I just don’t like what I’m doing and it’s been totally draining for a while now. Well, big news, folks.

As of June 1st (eek, so soon!!!), I will no longer work in this job! What, what!!! That’s right.

A couple of weeks ago, I found out from another military spouse about a summer camp counselor opportunity right up the road from my house at an awesome sports facility, Gulf Breeze Funplex/Gulf Breeze Gymnastics. Back in the day, I loved working with kids (tutoring, coaching, babysitting, nannying); and, remembering this made me want this job ASAP. So, I called up the Director of the camp looking for an interview. Luckily, that’s exactly what I got. Hooray, hoorah!

And, can I just tell you that I loved every minute of the interview. It was so awesome to talk about sports, games, dancing, and kids. What a huge change from my normal path of focus. When I left, I felt energized. I really really really wanted this job.

Luckily….last Wednesday, the Director, Sydney, offered me the job. Later that day, I resigned from my current position. 🙂

Without a freakin’ doubt, resigning was the most exhilarating thing I’ve done in years. I immediately felt a weight lift off of me and a renewed sense of excitement and joy fill me up. I literally giggled for a good three hours just thinking of everything else I can now spend my time and energy on. How awesome!!!

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a little terrified about leaving a salaried, full-time job for a 30 hour per week camp counselor summer job. But, I’m super stoked about doing something FUN! I’m also super-stoked that this is the first big step toward making Simply You Health & Wellness work. If it doesn’t, I won’t be able to pay the bills. Haha!

However, fear cannot determine the path of my life. And, after nearly a full year of praying, meditating, journaling, and blogging about the topic (oh – and trying to convince my husband that me not having a long-term steady income is totally a good idea), I know that I’m making the right “career” choice for me. Everything in my life is moving towards people, creativity, and health. So, I need to align MY WHOLE LIFE with that. Duh, right? 🙂

Sometimes a jump off of the cliff lands you RIGHT where you are supposed to be. In only one week, I’ve met multiple new people (more than since moving here!), volunteered for a couple exciting events, finally started back running, and gotten my house in prime spring clean order. Good things, folks. Good things!!!

When you are on the right path in life, it’s pretty dang undeniable, eh? I can’t wait to share all of the adventures of this new chapter with y’all. It’s going to sound so different, and totally AWESOME! 😉 No doubt!

 

So, how about you? Is there something in life that you know you need to get right, or change direction on? Perhaps it’s a fitness routine gone stale (or gone non-existent), a relationship that’s sucking the life out of you, or living in a place you don’t love! Whatever it may be, remember this:  Life doesn’t happen by chance, it happens by CHANGE! You have the power to create a life you love. One (sometimes baby) step at a time, you can redesign your life into something you are proud to call your own. A life that LIGHTS YOU UP from the inside out each and every day.

Don’t settle. We are forever a work in progress, which is pretty nifty if you ask me.

Well, off to fulfill one of my last work commitments this AM in Dallas, Texas. While it’s always best to be home with the hubs and doggies, I’m lucky to be able to spend this week with my Aunt Alex here in Dallas. I haven’t seen her since our wedding last May so this visit is WAY OVER DUE! Looking forward to good talks, lots of laughing, and time by the pool.

Happy Hump Day little blog family! Make today something worth remembering!!! 🙂

 

5 Responses to “Life doesn’t happen by chance. It happens by change!”

  1. Tracy May 16, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    THANK YOU for writing this blog entry. I too am an IIN student looking to make the leap into my health coaching business and petrified to leave the salaried (draining) job right now. It has been on my mind for months, and when your blog happened to pop up on my facebook page news feed, I knew it was meant to be (as I believe everything happens for a reason). Thank you for being so energetic and passionate about making the CHANGE! I’ll be following your blog for sure! Good luck with everything and hopefully we’ll cross paths one day in our line of work!

    • Natasha May 17, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      Hi Tracy! Don’t you love synchronicity? I’m thrilled that this post came at the right time for you. I wish you the best with upcoming changes in YOUR life! Keep me posted. I’d love to stay in the loop on what’s new and good! 🙂

      • Tracy May 17, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

        I would absolutely love to keep in touch and speak about our journeys together. Follow me in facebook at http://www.facebook.com/IgniteYourHealthwithTracy , Twitter @IgniteURHealth, and my website, www,igniteyourhealth.com. Looking forward to reading mor about your journey!

  2. Val May 16, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

    Good for you!! Say hi and hugs to Alex.

    • Natasha May 17, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      Thanks Val. Alex says HELLO back! 🙂 Thanks for reading. Enjoy your day!!!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

