There’s no Chipotle near you either? Don’t panic!

1 May

Ok, don’t panic. Got it. But, I mean, really….What do you do when you find out there is not a single Chipotle within reasonable driving distance of your new place of residence? Well, you complain each time you have a craving for it of course (which may be almost daily…). But, once you realize that your complaining yields nothing more than your own misery, you decide to take action. That’s when I decided it was time for Chipotle-esque burrito bowls at home. Nom, nom, and some more nom. So yummy. I was “fuller than a deer tick” (sorry, had to use that expression) when dinner was done.

So, let’s break it down.

I love love LOVE Chipotle’s Cilantro Lime rice, which means that definitely had to happen. We don’t have white rice in this house, so brown it was. I had Mr. Military Man cook it up according to the package. When it was done cooking, we fluffed it and added a handful of chopped cilantro and the juice of a lime. The flavor was terrific. Who knew these two tiny additions could transform the flavor of rice so much? Impressed!

Next, the beans. I’m a huge fan of beans – especially black beans. A can of those (rinsed!) and a cup of corn went into the pot with about a tbsp of cumin and 1/2 cup of homemade roasted salsa (more on that below) and just simmered away.

On yet another burner, I sauteed onions and peppers in a bit of grapeseed oil with some roasted salsa made for us by our friend Michelle (she substituted beer for the chicken stock and it came out great – need to try this!). I just cooked ’em over med-high heat, stirring occasionally until everything was softened up.

Oh yes, and lastly, on the stove top, I had some wannabe taco meat. What I mean by that is that I cooked up tempeh crumbles with taco seasoning. As weird as it may seem, I actually crave the flavor of these things from time-to-time. I get the flavor and texture of ground beef without the heavy, full feeling of meat. Good stuff.

False alarm. Looks like I’m actually not done yet, because there was also guacamole – best part, duh!. I mean, c’mon, what’s a mexican meal without guac? Sheesh! That was super simple. Avocado, lime juice, cilantro. Mash everything together and you’re in business. (if you aren’t piling it onto other salty things, you may want to add a touch of salt and pepper!)

Once your stove is exhausted from using every square inch cooking your meal (aka everything is cooked), get out the bowls and prepare to pile. My preference? Rice, beans/corn, onion/peppers, guacamole, salsa, cheeeeese!

Looks pretty yummy, doesn’t it? And, it was. I won’t lie to you and tell you that I outdid Chipotle because I am pretty certain that will never happen (especially when I have to do the dishes after my version…). However, it was scrumptious and warm and comforting and flavorful – just as my Chipotle meals always are.

So, friend, should you also find yourself in such an unfortunate no-Chipotle situation in the future, doesn’t waste your time complaining. You can make your own version at home to keep those cravings at bay (at least for a few days). If you DO try this, let me know. I’d love to hear how it turns out and what variation(s) you tried. 🙂

In other, non-food news, our puppies were in a made game of fetch the crazy-annoying-squeeky-toy yesterday and Violet accidentally bounded off the couch and crash landed on Duchess. OUCH! Duchess suffered a left shoulder injury for which she is now hopped-up with pain pills. Poor baby hasn’t been able to move on her own since yesterday afternoon. Makes me so sad. But, I’m going to have mad arm muscles when this is done. We may be feeding her too many treats… So, my life for now involves staying close to the couch and nursing my little puppy back to health. Hopefully she recovers soon. It’s so sad to see her. She and my husband have the most saddening “pitiful” looks ever. That, or I’m just super sensitive. I suppose the jury is out on that one. 😉

Okie dokie. That does it for me. I’m a wee bit behind with my classes right now. I’ve been so so so so drained by my job lately that I haven’t really been able to scrape together energy for much else. But, I’m trying. Promise! I hope each of you have a terrific Tuesday. If you’re bored at home, watch New Girl tonight. It’s the best thing on TV right now, hands down. 🙂

Toodles!

One Response to “There’s no Chipotle near you either? Don’t panic!”

  1. Kimberly Michelle Murray May 2, 2012 at 2:44 am #

    amazeballs

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

