A brain fart… and pizza time!

5 Apr

First of all, when I logged into WordPress today to write this blog post, I noticed that a bunch of my posts are scrambled in terms of dates. So, things seem to be a bit out of order now. Ugh! If you get the same post multiple times, or find a St. Patty’s day post in January, I’m sorry. I blame WordPress.

Now onto the brain fart that is consuming my life lately….

I NEED TO COME UP WITH A BUSINESS NAME!!! Yep, my program at Integrative Nutrition is moving along (too quickly I might add…) and I am at the point in my program where I need to start building my practice so I can see clients soon. The problem? I have absolutely NO idea what the heck I should name my business. Hardest thing ever – seriously. I’ve toyed with everything from “Nutrition by Natasha” to “Nom Nom Nutrition” (yes, you can laugh – that’s the point), to “Radiant Life Wellness”. But, nothing is sticking. I feel like this should be a lot like picking out a wedding dress. You try things on until one sticks and you’re like “THIS IS MY DRESS!”. That’s what I need – a sign, a feeling, something – so that I know, “THIS IS MY BUSINESS!”. Apparently, easier said than done. I’ve journaled and scribbled and meditated, and I get NOTHING! The one thing I haven’t done? Gone public with my dilemma. So, here I am. Admitting that I am likely the most non-creative future small business owner ever! Maybe just admitting I have a problem is the first step?!?!?! 🙂

If any of you marvelous readers have ideas on how the heck I pick a business name, let me know. I am so open to help here!!! thx!

In other news, I took my first test of the year yesterday and got a 97%. Not too shabby if I do say so myself. I was super nervous going into it because I have learned SO MUCH already. I mean, from raw foods to macrobiotics to the politics of children’s health – I’ve had to learn it all. I wasn’t sure how in the world I’d sort all of that newly acquired knowledge in my head, but somehow I did and it worked. Hooray! Definitely a confidence boost around this whole nutrition thing. 🙂

Since I have been so consumed with school (and wasting days brainstorming business names that just won’t do…), Mr. Military Man has been pitching-in with dinners lately and has whipped up a couple DELICIOUS pizzas. He’s such a catch!

First up? Pineapple, Red Onion, Jalapeno! So freakin’ good. Actually, my first time having pineapple on a pizza. And, I must say, I like the sweetness on the pizza. Who would have thought?

Next? Pineapple (there was a great sale on fresh pineapple at Publix, so we’re trying to move through it….), Red Onion, and Jerk Chicken! This is perhaps the greatest combination we’ve put onto a pizza crust yet. Spicy and savory, yet sweet, but some bitterness from the onions. WOW! Pure genius, I tell you!

As far as recipes go, it’s just like it sounds…

For the Pineapple, Red Onion, Jalapeno pizza, simply take your crust (yes, we use store-bought extra thin crusts) with pizza sauce (we use unsalted, sugar-free tomato sauce and add dried herbs here at home – oregano, thyme, red pepper, black pepper). Then, layer on your toppings (we used pickled jalapenos, but definitely try fresh if you have ’em). Lastly, top with mozzarella cheese and pop into the oven. We do 425* for about 10 minutes.

Now, onto the real winner – the Pineapple, Red Onion, and Jerk Chicken.

We have a small stock of Jerk marinade form our honeymoon in Jamaica last year, so why not use it for a pizza?! Marinade the chicken in Jerk marinade for at last an hour. Then, put the chicken into a foil packet (literally make a packet using a sheet of foil. Your chicken will sit on the flat foil surface on the bottom and the foil sides will come up around it and close by coming together at the top) in the oven on 350* for about 20 minutes, or until cooked through. After the chicken is done, pull it out of the oven and shred it (using two forks and pulling in opposing directions works great!). Then, you’re ready to top the pizza. Just like above, get your pizza crust and top it with your pizza sauce. This time, add your layer of cheese first. Then, add your topping – chunked pineapple, red onion slices, and shredded Jerk Chicken. Into the oven at 425* for about 10 minutes and ta-da! Delicious pizza in your tummy!

Note:  If you eat chicken, please pay attention to what you’re buying. Choose organic, free-range, and LOCAL if you can. It’s worth the extra $!

And, Duchess apparently did not want in on the fun. Either that, or there were simply no dropped chicken pieces on the floor. Bummer!

So, thank you to my sweet (and awesome) hubs for making sure we were well fed as I allowed myself to be thoroughly distracted (hello, brain fart!) the past week. What a keeper!

Thankfully the weekend is in sight. Enjoy your Thursday. See you soon!

2 Responses to “A brain fart… and pizza time!”

  1. Melanie April 5, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    Hey hun. How about the name of your blog for the name of your company? I don’t know what your company is, but the blog name is adorable and catchy.

    • Natasha April 6, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

      I thought about that, but didn’t feel that it represented what I’m doing now – Health Coaching. I love the name later on if I were to do cooking workshops or develop a line of snacks/treats. Thanks for your comment!!! 🙂

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

