Veggie enchiladas with creamy vegan cheese sauce…

26 Mar

Longest.title.ever!

Anyhow, enchiladas. We all know I LOVE THEM! What I don’t so love so much is the high-cal and high-fat ticket that comes with the cheesy goodness of enchiladas. But, the other night in our casa, that became a thing of the past.

Remember the Creamy Cauliflower Mac-n-Cheese post? Well, I love that sauce so freakin’ much, that I decided I was going to Mexican-ise it. The result? DELICIOUSNESS. Most receipes I have found for vegan “cheese” sauces are cashew based which creates a very heavy sauce. Awesome for winter comfort food, not so awesome on 85 degree days in FL. So, I’m super happy that I found a tasty alternative fit for warmer weather!

The recipe is super easy – as long as you own a food processor. If you don’t, I’d recommend you just go with this non-vegan enchilada recipe. Also supremely tasty!

Vegan Cheese Sauce

  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 3 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 chipotle pepper (I used one out of a can of chipotle in adobo sauce. I would think you could probably rehydrate a dried chipotle pepper and use that if you prefer.)
  • 1 tsp cumin (more to taste, if you’d like)
  • 1 cup vegetable broth (you can add more if the consistency isn’t thin enough for you)
  • salt & pepper to taste

Chop and boil cauliflower in water for about 15 minutes. Drain. Pour cooked cauliflower into food processor. Add all other ingredients. Turn processor to on, and let it go for about 30 seconds. If still clumpy, let it go for another 30 seconds or so (or add some more broth).

And, wah-lah! Cheese sauce is complete.

The nutritional yeast gives it the savory, cheesy flavor. If it’s not “cheesy” enough for you, you may try adding more. Or, if you’re not worried about the vegan thing, add about 1/4 cup of cheese and process again. Still much lower in fat that traditional cheese sauces! (This is what I did for Mr. Military Man to get him on the same – this is delicious page! At least it’s progress!)

The chipotle pepper adds an awesome “mexican-y” kick to the dish, and gives it some additional depth of flavor. That’s my opinion. Mr. Military Man said it was spicy. So, beware if you aren’t a spicy food fan like ME! 🙂

Speaking of my hubby, we went for a “run” today. I have been entirely too INactive for the past few weeks. And, activity coupled with a humid 85 degree day = I hated my life for about 30 minutes. Bleh! But, I made it through out little intervals (I require walking in between spurts of running at this point.) so that’s awesome. Then, I did some work on our Total Gym. What a day! I feel great, but totally need a shower. In fact, we both do. Between our sweaty selves and our dog, our living room smells nothing like a field of flowers. 😉

Enjoy your Monday. Tomorrow, I may let you in on my smoothie making skills with my stellar Vitamix. You’re excited, I know!

Toodles friends!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

