Tortilla Time

12 Mar

I love Mexican food. Absolutely, hands-down, Mexican food is my fav! I wish I knew more about how to make traditional Mexican dishes. I’m trying my hand at it, but the learning curve is huge! Practice makes perfect, right? Well, if not perfect, much tastier.

Enchiladas are sort of a staple in our house. Absolutely scrumptious. Nom, nom! But, until recently, I always settled for store-bought tortillas, as the idea of making them seemed like a pain in the bum! But, last week, I conquered my fears and went hands first into a batch of flour tortillas (Yes, I know that most enchiladas are made with corn tortillas, but that’s not how I roll, and it’s MY kitchen!). Per usual for me, I hunted through food blogs and recipe sites until I found a recipe that met my criteria:  1) super short ingredient list & 2) fantabulous reviews. Easy enough, right? It didn’t take me long to find the below recipe on AllRecipes.com. The reviews were mostly positive and bragged on the ease of the process, so I decided it was a winner. My comments/changes are in italics throughout the recipe!

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Ingredients

  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons lard (ummmm….use butter. It worked just fine for me!)
  • 1 1/2 cups water

Directions

  1. Whisk the flour, salt, and baking powder together in a mixing bowl. Mix in the lard with your fingers until the flour resembles cornmeal. (Or, cut the butter into cubes and toss into a food processor with your dry ingredients. Pulse 4 or 5 times.) Add the water and mix until the dough comes together; place on a lightly floured surface and knead a few minutes until smooth and elastic. Divide the dough into 24 equal pieces and roll each piece into a ball.
  2. Preheat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Use a well-floured rolling pin to roll a dough ball into a thin, round tortilla. Place into the hot skillet (Do not add oil or butter to your pan. There is no need for this. The tortillas will cook up just fine without it due to the butter in the dough!), and cook until bubbly and golden; flip and continue cooking until golden on the other side. Place the cooked tortilla in a tortilla warmer (or, on a plate wrapped in paper towels or a dish towel); continue rolling and cooking the remaining dough.

Oh man! This was so dang easy. I can’t believe I’ve been skimping on this for all of these months. WTH?! If I find out that making bread is even almost this easy, I’ll try that too. Any feedback on that one? Making bread SCARES me. I just know I’ll end up with something rock hard and incredibly awkward tasting. Oh kitchen fears!

*One little side note as you look through the pictures….Rolling dough into a perfect little circle is hard – no, impossible. At least mine didn’t have any visible corners!!! 🙂

As mentioned in the recipe, I just substituted butter for the lard because, honestly, I’ve never used lard, and I’m not about to start. That word alone – LARD – is just gross. The butter worked great. The tortillas were chewy and tasted just like the fresh tortillas I love getting at restaurants. Mr. Military Man gave these two thumbs up. In fact, he ate a lot of them…just plain. Good sign!

In other news, I’ve implemented a GOALS board in our home to keep us focused. It’s just a good ol’ marker board with three columns – Daily, Weekly, and Monthly. We’ll keep things updated and posted in our home so we can keep our eyes on our various goals and hold each other accountable. I’ve never done this before, but it’s been on my mind for a while now. For some reason, writing down my goals and posting them somewhere that they are in my face, seems like it will help. I’ll let you know how it goes. Today’s goal? 30 minutes of physical activity, which was going to be super easy until a torrential downpour just came out of nowhere and flooded the neighborhood. I suppose my indoor mini-trampoline will be getting some action today.

Well friends, I hope you have a marvelous Monday with much less rain than mine. The rest of today is full of work and packing. Tomorrow, I’m off to Tampa for a conference. I’ll be gone until Friday night. Not sure about posting while I’m gone. Hopefully I’ll have some time. Otherwise, I’ll “see” you next weekend! Toodles!

3 Responses to “Tortilla Time”

  1. Karen March 12, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    Your tortillas look great and sound so easy. Thanks

    • Natasha March 12, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

      Thanks Karen! I just love how easing making these was. 🙂

  2. Christi Ward March 22, 2012 at 5:00 am #

    Good job, my friend! 🙂 You can make these with sourdough to break down the gluten and make them even healthier too!! Check out http://www.GNOWFGLINS.com for some great recipes and info! 🙂

    Christi
    http://www.naturallychristi.blogspot.com

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

