Walking in Memphis…

9 Mar

Good morning y’all. Today, I write to you from Memphis, TN. I’ve been here since Wednesday for work. After noon today, I’m a free woman and headed back to FL. Let me tell you a little bit about Memphis….I don’t like it. Yes, there is Beale Street, which is fantastic if you want to get unreasonably drunk and “act a fool”. And, then there is Graceland which is awkward and gaudy. Oh, yes. Then there is the flood of BBQed meats. Past that, there ain’t much.Mostly, I’ve been busy with work which is totally fine. But, my free time has left me wishing I was instead in Nashville (LOVE THAT CITY!). ๐Ÿ™‚

I spent nearly an hour yesterday driving, just to visit the local Whole Foods to stock up on some non-perishable staples for the house (amaranth, quinoa, millet…). OMG! I didn’t even know Whole Foods had ugly/dirty stores. When did this happen?! I felt like I was shopping at Walmart. It was so cramped, and stuff was all out of place. Sad day! But, I did get what I went for, so it was a success at the end of the day. On a side note, I’ve been on a hunt for TOMs for some time now (all of mine have been worn to the sole and must be replaced). I wear an 11 (hey, it comes with being super tall!), which is quite challenging to find most of the time. While I was in Whole Foods, I hit up the TOMs display just hopingย  my luck might change. And, what did I find? A huge selection of ladies’ size 12, but not one.single.11. What the?!?!?! It figures. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m just being stubborn. I should order them from Nordstrom since they have free shipping and all. I just like to take the long road sometimes, I guess.

Past the horrifying (ok, that may be exaggerating) Whole Foods experience, I decided I was ready to nom nom on some delicious food. I heard about this awesome Vegan-friendly (For those of you who are new, nope I’m not a vegan. However, when I travel, I find that vegan restaurants tend to have really great, healthy options that aren’t loaded with butter and cheese. Winning!). I had my mind set on it, but discovered it was another 45 minutes from where I currently was. At the time, it was super windy and raining like a mother. So, I opted for a local restaurant near my hotel where I consumed some very tasty grilled veggie enchiladas with a garlic tomatillo sauce. Not exactly the healthful meal I had planned in my head earlier that day, but it was yum, and I was happy!

Thanks for hanging in through that rant. I think we can move on now. ๐Ÿ™‚ Onto happier topics!

Since I have no pictures or additional food/news thoughts of my own, I leave you with a little motivation and a cute picture of my puppy (awwwww!).

There are only two ways to live your life.

One, is as though there are no miracles.

The other is as though everything is a miracle.

Albert Einstein

Go out and enjoy the day!!!

-N

 

One Response to “Walking in Memphis…”

  1. Marybeth March 9, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    I wear a 12! ๐Ÿ™‚

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

