Cookie Dough Dip

6 Mar

This weekend, I hosted a recipe exchange for a few of our friends, and the theme was dips! I searched high-and-low for something yummy and truly unique. Lucky for me, I stumbled upon a blogger who came up with one rocking, healthy, cookie dough dip recipe. The dip is centered around garbanzo beans, which is so awesome. Great way to add fiber and protein to a sweet treat. And, the sugar-free version of her recipe has absolutely no refined sugar – just dates for sweetness. And, if you wanted to go full on vegan with it, you could use vegan cacao nibs or something of that sort.

Without further ado, I give you this spectacular creation of a recipe:  (No Sugar!) Cookie Dough Dip by Chocolate-Covered Katie!

Below are my photos. Hers are so much better. Note to self:  Take a photography class (or twelve) this year! 😉

When I made the first batch (to make sure it was as yummy as it sounds), only Mr. Military Man and I were around to eat it, so I needed to get a bit creative to keep us from being wasteful. The solution? Frozen cookie dough truffles, of course. I took a couple tablespoons of dip at a time, rolled ’em into balls, then froze ’em for about 30 minutes. After they were good and cold, I melted some chocolate and milk (took keep the chocolate form getting uber crunchy in the freezer) then dunked the cookie dough dip balls in to cover them – wa-lah, I give you truffles. Unfortunately, Mr. Military Man ate most of them before I could get any decent photos, but you get the idea. They look delicious, the taste awesome, and they are way healthier than any typical desert you were thinking about pulling out of your freezer.


Don’t fear the beans. Try this. It’s great with graham crackers, apple wedges, shortbread, etc!

Well, kids, that is it for today. You see, the sun is shining and the air is warm; so, as much as I love to talk about my life and the food I’m eating, I must go outside and enjoy a bit of sun and fun. Plus, Duchess is sitting here looking at me all pitifully so I should probably pay attention to her!

Adios friends!

3 Responses to “Cookie Dough Dip”

  1. Chocolate-Covered Katie March 6, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    Awww the truffles are adorable!!

    • Natasha March 6, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      THANK YOU! I am such a fan of your recipes and blog. I have to tell you that I’ve been sharing this specific recipe on your blog with everyone. In fact, my boss and his wife even made them this weekend for a party they attended. They have a 3 year old son and this was a huge hit with him. They’re making your Snickerdoodle version next. Thanks for such an awesome (and tasty) recipe! So glad I found it. 🙂

  2. Marybeth March 7, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Oh my gosh. I think you just changed my life. I love eating cookie dough from the bowl and Sara always yells at me. YAY!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

