Time Management…and Green Smoothie LOVE!

2 Mar

Time management and I have not been friends lately. In fact, time management is kicking my butt. For some reason, I’m getting caught up on little things at work, and they’re consuming way too much of my time. Then, in the evenings, I seem to spend half of my time just cleaning the kitchen when all I’ve done all day is make smoothies. What gives? I think I’ve hit a little motivational wall and need to hit the refresh button on things.

I think that will start today. I usually hate lists and goals because I feel like that’s so black and white. And, those sort of things lead me to put even more pressure on myself to jam pack my days (and my life). But, for a week or so – to reset things – I think I’ll create a planner and block off time for things each day. This should help me see where I’m overstaying my welcome, what I’m avoiding, and what I simply don’t make enough time for now. Wish me luck. Hopefully I don’t burn the planner before my reset project is up. 😉

In other news, I’ve been giving my Vitamix quite the workout. I love love love love LOVE this appliance. I’m really not sure what I ever did without it. I found this great “e-book” called the 21 Day Avocado Power Plan! Loving this! It’s based on the idea of drinking green smoothies and eating raw/vegan for 21 days to refresh and cleanse your body. While I’m not sticking to this 100% (I am a suck for a hot dinner…), I am drinking 2 green smoothies everyday. A huge focus of the plan is adding 1/4 avocado to every smoothie. Not only does it add some healthy fat to keep you fuller longer, it adds a luxurious creaminess to the smoothie, and it’s making my skin, hair, and nails look amazing (if I do say so myself). Win, win, aaaaand…win!!!

I’m still experimenting with recipes and mixtures a lot, but here’s my current fav – hands-down!

Strawberry-Cherry Green Smoothie

  • 1 C kefir (I use Lifeway’s low-fat plain variety.)
  • 1 carrot
  • 2 big handfuls of spinach
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1/3 banana
  • 5 frozen strawberries
  • handful of frozen cherries (loving these right now!!!)
  • 1/2 tsp Maca powder (optional – This is a superfood I am currently incorporating into my diet to help with hormonal balance. It’s a pretty amazing plant/root!)

I start by adding kefir, spinach, and carrot to the Vitamix and blending those together at high speed for about 10 seconds. I then add everything else and let it go for 20-30 seconds. The end result is a super thick, fruity smoothie. Yum-o!

For those of you who haven’t heard of Kefir, it’s a probiotic drink (like drinkable yogurt). All of those probiotics in this drinks are super good for balancing (or rebuilding) your internal flora and helping with digestive distress. If you are down with dairy products, I’d highly recommend this. I can’t believe how much more I enjoy my smoothies with this in place of the almond milk I used to use. The flavor is just so different. PS – Lifeway also has a blueberry variety that is scrumptious!!!

I’m beyond excited about how great I’m feeling with these smoothies right now. I know I’m getting SO MUCH MORE raw fruits and veggies than I did before because you can fit so much into the blender at once. Such a good thing! If you’re looking for a great way to give your digestive system some rest and do some spring cleaning, I’d recommend looking into bringing green smoothies in as meals this spring. They pack a ton of nutrients and are so much easier to assimilate and digest than the meals most of us are chomping through each day!

Unfortunately, it’s Monday (How did this happen?!?!), which means I must work. So, I’m off to plow through some emails before I hit up the Vitamix for my morning smoothie fix. I’d like to win the lottery so I can stop working. Can someone out there make that happen? kthanks! 🙂

Happy April friends! 🙂

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

