Curry in a Hurry!

23 Feb

First thing’s first. Tomorrow, I am off of work (*big ol’ happy dance*). Chris and I (and Duchess) are meeting our friends, Zach and Lindsay up in TN. We rented a super adorable cabin and are just going to hang out for the weekend. We are both psyched. In fact, I’ve already packed our suitcase. I’d leave RIGHT THIS MINUTE if we could. I can’t even convey just how excited I am to hang out with friends and RELAX this weekend. Joy!

Moving on…

A few weeks ago, I went home to AR and spent a couple days with Zach and Lindsay (see above). The night I stayed with them, Zach went out to get us Thai food for dinner. I read through the menu and decided that the Red Curry dish looked delicious. And, I was totally right. It was amaze-balls. So yummy. Since then, I can’t stop thinking about that curry dish. If that place was local, I’d have a diagnosable addiction…fact! So, last night, I decided I’d try to whip up my own. We picked up some coconut milk and red curry paste during our grocery shopping adventure over the weekend. I had better get to using ’em! I toyed around on the net for a while, browsing recipes. But, most of them call for weird ingredients that I have never used, and am pretty sure I cannot readily obtain here in NW FL. So, I improvised. Here’s the scoop folks:

VEGGIES! Mr. Military Man and I are headed out of town tomorrow (remember that from earlier?), which means we’ve got to move through those perishable items in our fridge. That said, I apologize if this seems like a mish-mash of stuff in a pan. It was. But, it turned out to be a super yum combination. Heat some oil in a pan over med-high heat (I used grape seed oil), throw in chunks of sweet potato, onion, green pepper, yellow pepper, zucchini, and mushrooms. No measuring here. Just use what you have, or what you like. I used about one vegetable of each and a big handful of mushrooms. Stir, stir, stir – for about 5-10 mins – until things start to lose a bit of their crunch. Then, it’s curry time!

Red Curry Sauce! Like I said, I vetoed following a recipe on this one. Grab a saucepan. Put it on the stove over medium heat. Add 1/2 can of coconut milk (I, um…used the other 1/2 of the can that was for this dinner making an orange, banana, coconut smoothie mid-morning. Oops…), 2 TBSP red curry paste (yes, I do know this sounds like a lot when you look at other recipes, but I could eat this stuff straight, with a spoon, so I decided to add more…a lot more!), 1 tsp PB2 (see picture below. If you are not on the powdered peanut butter train yet, get to it!), 1 tbsp fish sauce. Stir, stir, stir – until things are combined – probably a few minutes.

Combine! Take the saucepan with your curry sauce and pour it into the pan with your veggies. Stir to combine and let cook over med-low/med heat for about 5 minutes, just until everything comes together. Then, scoop your goodness into a bowl and enjoy. We poured ours over Quinoa. Mmmm! But, any sort of grain will work. You want a grain to soak up all the curry sauce goodness, trust me!

Mr. Military Man and I agreed that this was really good, but could use some improvement (it wasn’t very spicy which was a bummer…), but it sure is delicious and comforting. Plus, it’s a much healthier alternative to takeout. No excessive use of oil, no MSG, no GMO. I’ll take it.

I plan to make this again so I’ll let you know if I figure out any new curry sauce ingredient tricks. For now, if you have some veggies that need using, and about 10 minutes. Whip this up. It’s something different, and a great way to eat a ton of veggies in one sitting. 🙂

And, with that, I’m out. I haven’t yet showered today (a tad gross, I do admit) so I think I should get on that. Then, to make dinner and get some sleep for tomorrow’s road trip. Stay well, friends! 🙂

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

