Salmon & Gnocchi with Avocado Cream Sauce. Nom!

22 Feb

It all started with a trip to our local seafood market. And a strange craving for salmon. Weird, I know. I don’t know why, but I had salmon on the brain for days. Lucky for us, they had some fantastic looking wild salmon front-and-center. So, home it went with us. We served it up with some gnocchi tossed in an avocado cream sauce. Nom, nom!

Here’s how it went, folks!

Salmon: 

Please ignore the avocado cream sauce on my lovely dish towel. I'm a total mess in the kitchen. It's more fun that way!

Do you have this cook book? If not, you should. I mean, it totally tells you how to cook EVERYTHING. Duh! 🙂 But seriously, it’s amazing, and it is sort of a one-stop shop for the basics of cooking – you guessed it – just about everything. Moving on….In the book, we found a recipe for the perfect broiled salmon. Score the skin, coat both sides with some EVOO, sprinkle with salt and pepper (in this household we added fresh dill too! I’d encourage it!). Get it into the oven on the top shelf beneath the broiler, skin side up, for about 10 minutes. No joke. It’s that easy, and it was cooked perfectly. Who knew? When it was plated, we placed the salmon on a bed of mix greens. Fancy, aren’t we?! 🙂

Gnocchi with Avocado Cream Sauce:

Gnocchi was obtained from our food co-op. They have this awesome, never frozen, gnocchi. So, it’s simple and the ingredient list is short (score). For that, we just cooked as directed. If you make your own. Kudos, big honkin’ kudos. You should tell me how it’s done! 😉

For the avocado cream sauce, I must give credit to one of my favorite vegan bloggers, Angela over at Oh She Glows. She posted this a while back and I’ve wanted to try it for some time. I am so glad I did. You should too. I love the creaminess of the avocado and the freshness of the lemon. It was such a treat, and a great way to mix up our pasta sauce repertoire. It would be great with all sorts of pasta or even tossed with some sturdy veggies like green beans, asparagus, or carrots. Mmmmm! I urge you to try her recipe pronto. You’ll thank for me this advice!

And, then we ate! OMG! I want to have this again. This sauce is so luscious. Wow! Anyhow – The finished product…

Now, I must work. Bleh! But, the sun is shining, so that’s a plus. Perhaps a bike ride is in my future. I hope you have a wonderful Wednesday. Until next time! 🙂

-Natasha

2 Responses to “Salmon & Gnocchi with Avocado Cream Sauce. Nom!”

  1. Marybeth February 22, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    This looks sooooo yummy. Perfect Lenten meal. Boy am I hungry!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My favorite blog of all time! « Mindful Munchies with a Military Mrs - March 13, 2012

    […] Minute Creamy Avocado Pasta (in fact, there is a post about when I made […]

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

