Happy 2012 (and delicious enchiladas!)

6 Jan

Well, December was quite a whirl-wind. Between travel for work and to see family at the holidays, I’m not at all sure where the time went (or what time zone I’m in!). Mr. Military Man and I were lucky to have lots of time back in AR with our family and close friends. Although it’s always too hectic trying to see everyone, it sure is nice to be back in my hometown!

But, now – it’s a new year! How exciting is that? I’ve really never been one for new year’s resolutions or “starting over” in a new year. But, this year, it sure seems different. Going into a new year seems to have spurred me into action on some things that have been floating around in my mind for quite some time. I’m really energized by this, and excited for what 2012 will hold for me. In an effort to keep true to my goals, I’m outlining them below. Here we go!

  • Finally lose the last 25 pounds I keep wanting to get rid of
  • Make working out a non-negotiable. I’ve always been good at staying pretty active, but bad at making it a daily priority. I figure there is no better time to set a good habit than now!
  • Hit the books! I’ve talked and talked and talked about furthering my education in the realm of health and nutrition for a few years now. Well, 2012 is the year! I’ve already started looking into programs, and can’t wait to get started. It’s time to work toward working at something I love instead of simply working for a paycheck!

That about does it for now. Spiffy, eh?

Ok, so now onto other things that may be of more interest to those of you who will actually read this….

Mr. Military Man is back at it. He is not onto another stage of flight school – Primary. For now, he’s just doing admin-type stuff. They tell him he’ll actually start back at classes and flying on February 20. Boy is he anxious to get back into a plane. Now that he’s gotten a taste of flying and wearing a flight suit, I’m not sure anything else will make him happy. Ha!

And, on the food front of our lives, we’ve come up with one DELICIOUS vegetarian enchilada recipe. If you’re into Mexican food like we are, you should eat this. 🙂

Vegetarian Enchiladas

4 small red potatoes (sweet potatoes also work really well here – you’ll probably need 2 small)

1 small onion

1 jalapeno

1 red pepper

1 cup vegetable broth

1 can of enchilada sauce (…unless you’re awesome and make your own. I’m not that cool just yet!)

1 package of tortillas (corn, wheat, white – your choice. You’ll likely need 6-8 depending on the size of your baking dish)

1 cup of cheese (we like colby or jack cheese)

Heat oven to 350*. Start by heating broth over med-high heat. Skin and chop potatoes. Mince garlic and chop onion. When bubbly, add potatoes, garlic and onion. While those cook, chop pepper and jalapeno. After potatoes, garlic, and onion have cooked for about 5 minutes, add pepper and jalapeno. Stir to combine. If you’re liquid cooks out and becomes dry, add more broth or water to desired consistency. Cook for another 5 minutes.

Remove pan from heat. Get out a large rectangular baking dish. Line the bottom with a small layer of your enchilada sauce (just enough that you can no longer see the bottom of the pan). Then, start filling tortillas and stacking enchiladas into the pan.

To fill enchiladas:

Lay tortillas flat and spoon in a few spoonfuls of enchilada filling from your pan. Top with a sprinkle of cheese, then roll burrito style. Place into pan with end flap of tortilla on the bottom. Repeat, placing tortillas side-by-side until pan is full. Once full, top all enchiladas with remaining enchilada sauce, spreading evenly with the back of a spoon. Then, sprinkle with remaining cheese.Top pan with foil and place into the over for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, remove the foil and put back into the oven for 10 additional minutes (this helps to crisp up the edges of the tortilla and gets the cheese all bubbly!

Remove from oven, scoop out with a spatula, and enjoy!

We served our with smashed black beans prepared by cooking black beans and adding 2 tbsp of water and 1 tbsp sour cream.

2 Responses to “Happy 2012 (and delicious enchiladas!)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tortilla Time « Mindful Munchies with a Military Mrs - March 12, 2012

    […] Enchiladas are sort of a staple in our house. Absolutely scrumptious. Nom, nom! But, until recently, I always settled for store-bought tortillas, as the idea of making them seemed like a pain in the bum! But, last week, I conquered my fears and went hands first into a batch of flour tortillas (Yes, I know that most enchiladas are made with corn tortillas, but that’s not how I roll, and it’s MY kitchen!). Per usual for me, I hunted through food blogs and recipe sites until I found a recipe that met my criteria:  1) super short ingredient list & 2) fantabulous reviews. Easy enough, right? It didn’t take me long to find the below recipe on AllRecipes.com. The reviews were mostly positive and bragged on the ease of the process, so I decided it was a winner. My comments/changes are in italics throughout the recipe! […]

  2. Veggie enchiladas with creamy vegan cheese sauce… « Mindful Munchies with a Military Mrs - March 26, 2012

    […] as long as you own a food processor. If you don’t, I’d recommend you just go with this non-vegan enchilada recipe. Also supremely […]

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

