Veggie Pie

4 Oct

Pizza Pie, that is!!!

But…before I bring you to this lovely Monday meal in our household, let’s back up to yesterday.

Yesterday – there was chili. Yes, upon first hearing this, you automatically this delicious, rich, comfort food – which it was. However, the path that got us there, well that was a bumpy one. First of all, I’ve only had chili perhaps six or so times in my whole life. Mr. Military Man loves chili but has never made it – just eats it. So, the two of us “winging it” in the kitchen on this one resulted in many ghastly looks and raised voices. In the end – it wasn’t too bad. I mean, I don’t really know much about chili. But, this was good and we both ate a huge heaping of it. And, there was cornbread on the side. But, nothing fancy. Just the standard Jiffy stand-by that Mr. Military Man loves. Yes, yes, I know – not at all the most healthy meal. But, he liked it and that’s what I was really going for.

Then there is tonight. I let Mr. Military Man put 2 lbs – yes, 2 lbs – of grass fed beef into the chili so tonight we went meatless (wahoo!). On the menu? A delectable veggie-loaded pizza. Doesn’t it look totally scrum-didly-umptious? Indeed, it was!

This is sort of a no recipe, recipe. As in, sure, there is a basic recipe involved in making pizza. Look on the net and you’ll find all you could wish for. Basically, we took a store bought crust (love this brand – we’ve tried a number of their different pre-baked crusts and they’re all awesome!). I cooked it in the oven at 425* with some mozzarella on half of it (for the Mr.) for about 5 minutes so the cheese could cook up a bit and not get the crispy crust all mushy. Then, I took it out and piled it with a mixture of onion, red pepper, yellow pepper, mushrooms, and spinach that I sauteed in some veggie broth with a bit of Italian seasoning. On top of that went a handful of roasted tomatoes I made earlier in the day (again, just Google that one. This is nothing I made up. Just a bit of tomato and olive oil goodness). Then, a tad more cheese on top of Mr. Military Man’s side for good measure. Back into the oven for about 10 minutes at 425*. Then, up to broil for about 5 minutes. The result? A yummy, veggie loaded pizza (I packed 3 cups of spinach – measured raw – onto this pizza!). I’m loving pizza nights in our house.

Oh, yes! And, that black “goo” on the pizza? That’s a balsamic reduction. Just put balsamic vinegar into a saucepan over medium heat and let it bubble down until it’s syrupy. This is a good thing to have on hand. It adds great depth of flavor to all sorts of things – especially veggie pizza pie!!!

Dinners eaten and dishes are done. Now, I’m blogging. He’s studying. Flight school is keeping him awfully focused and busy these days. He’s so disciplined. I’d get distracted, or find excuses not to study. Not him. He’s all over it.

Tomorrow, Duchess has to go in to the dentist for a teeth cleaning. The Vet Tech told me they have to put her under for the procedure tomorrow. How sad is that? I feel so bad for her. Everytime I take Duchess to the vet, i want to tell them, “Be careful. She’s delicate!”. I suppose most pet owners feel this way. We can’t have kids. I worry too much. 😉 So, for now, she’s eating food (can’t do that again until I pick her up tomorrow afternoon) and chewing on her squeeky toys!

Tonight will wrap-up with a good ol’ documentary on Netflix. Yesterday, I watched Forks Over Knives. Mr. Military Man calls it hippey stuff. I think it’s brilliant. It really got me focused back on health and the way we should be eating. This will be good for our whole household, for sure.

‘Night all. 🙂

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

