Orange you glad it’s fall?

4 Oct

This morning, there are pumpkin oats in the kitchen. Oh jeeze. This makes me really happy. Yes, I really am excited by oatmeal, especially in the fall when there’s a surplus of sweet potato and pumpkin puree everywhere. A nice touch of orange! On top of delicious orange oats, there is plenty o’ sunshine and a predicted high of 70*. Does it get better than this? Ok, it does. I mean, fall foliage would be nice (thank you photo editing!); but we shouldn’t get wrapped up in details. 😉

Oh – the oats. Right! I just cooked the oats for 15 minutes with half the recommended water. Then, after 15 minutes, added the other half of what’s called for in liquid form as pumpkin puree. Then, a dash of pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, and vanilla. Cook for another 15 minutes. Then top with almond butter and a pinch of maple syrup. This may blow your mind….or make you really anxious for pumpkin/sweet potato pie on Thanksgiving!

In other news:  Duchess is at the vet. Mr. Military Man is at work. And, I’m enjoying the peace and quiet (not that I don’t love my little family!!!).

I hope your day is off to a great start. See you later! 🙂

One Response to “Orange you glad it’s fall?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s like a garbage can… « Mindful Munchies with a Military Mrs - October 13, 2011

    […] lunch went yesterday. We had a lot of random foods to use up, and I was in an orange mood (remember Pumpkin Oats?). Yes, it’s a trend. I believe I’m making up for the fact that everything here in FL […]

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

