Taco Soup

26 Sep

So, I’ve been up in Hot Springs for a few days with my friend Lindsay who got married on Saturday. Lindsay and I have been friends since college. We actually met on a roommate matching website and became roommates and great friends. I am SO STINKIN’ HAPPY for her and her new hubby Zach. They’re just so great together.

While I was at the wedding, I had good intentions of taking pictures and documenting our fun. However, I failed…epically. But, what I do have to share with you is what I cooked up for Mr. Military Man before I left for Arkansas. May I present Taco Soup. Yum, yum!

Taco Soup

(Serves a bunch – you will have leftovers!)

  • 1 onion chopped
  • 2 cups frozen corn
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can pinto beans
  • 2 cans of Rotel (tomatoes and green chilis basically)
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup of taco seasoning
  • 2 cups of chicken – precooked and chopped

So, this is actually super easy. Start by sauteing your chopped onion over medium heat (using olive oil or another liquid, such as vegetable broth). Once soft, add frozen corn to the pot. Stir occasionally until the corn starts to brown slightly. Add taco seasoning and stir to combine. Then, add Rotel, diced tomatoes, and beans to the pot. Next, add your chicken (our secret is to buy the rotisserie chicken from the market, then just tear pieces of, chop them up, and toss them in. Huge time saver!). Turn heat to high and bring all to a low boil. Once boiling, turn heat to low, cover and allow to simmer for about an hour.

This dish feels hearty and homey and is just plain delicious. The pot ended up serving out about 8 bowls of soup…maybe a tad more. Mr. Military Man really liked it, which is great. Well, he said he liked it. I came home to find one serving left. Apparently he decided to have chicken nuggets for dinner instead the last night I was gone. Haha!!!

Unfortunately, I am off again this evening. I have to go up to the offices in MD for work. I’ll finally be back home again on Sunday. Busy, busy fall. That’s for sure!!!

Have a magnificent Monday!

One Response to “Taco Soup”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby it’s cold outside… « Mindful Munchies with a Military Mrs - December 1, 2011

    […] taco soup. Ok, you’re right. I just do that every week because it’s become my favorite go-to meal […]

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

