Pizzzza!

20 Sep

Yes. Pizza requires that amount of enthusiasm – especially this one!

I’m on a garlic kick. I’m sneaking it into every single meal we consume in the house. Mr. Military Man brought this to my attention. He’s a little over garlic. (I think I’m just sneaking it in for our health. Garlic has a ton of health benefits, like having antibiotic and blood cleansing properties…). So, when he brought that to my attention, I figured one last garlic hoorah was in order before I gave him a break. I had no idea where that hoorah was going to take me, but decided wherever it was – I wanted my garlic to be roasted to a buttery deliciousness. So, I prepped a few heads of garlic, sprayed on a bit of olive oil, sprinkled on the pepper and put them into the over at 350 for about 45 minutes. Once they were done, I set them out to cool while I devised the rest of my plan.

I did some digging and found that we had some onions and mushrooms that were begging to be used! I also noticed a pizza crust we found at the co-op hiding beneath our honkin’ bag of lettuce in the fridge. That’s when it hit me – PIZZA! We should most definitely have pizza for dinner. We don’t eat pizza much around here. I mean, we both really like it, but it often seems so decadent. All of the greasy toppings and heavy cheese. But, I decided we can have our pizza and eat it too (without gaining 5 lbs or going into a food coma). To work I went.

The onions got sauteed in vegetable broth and some balsamic vinegar. I cooked everything over medium heat for about 20 minutes. It gave the onions time to cook down without browning, and to get all sweet.

Then, a quick saute of the mushrooms in a pan with vegetable broth.

So, I had roasted garlic, sauteed onions, and sauteed mushrooms. Time to assemble.

Pizza crust out. Roasted garlic buds processed into a “butter” in the food processor and smeered onto the crust.

Pizza sauce layered on THICK (I love pizza sauce…and I didn’t make this – we found it at the co-op!). Then, layer up those yummy onions and mushrooms. Looked so good at this point, I hardly wanted to top it with cheese or stick it in the oven. But…we carried on. Topped with a light layer of cheese (even lighter on my side – hers, left; his, right) & into the oven. About 12 minutes later, we had this baby! Doesn’t that look good?

The crust was thin and cracker crispy. Just the way I like it. It wasn’t oily at all. Wahoo! And, the toppings worked so well together. This pizza was super filling without feeling too heavy. We’ll be doing this more often for sure. Pizza is so easy and so comforting. And, you can make most of your toppings ahead of time, then just whip ’em out when you’re ready to throw that pizza in the over. What a discovery. 😉

This weekend, I head out for my friend Lindsay’s wedding, so I’m setting Mr. Military Man up with some eats while I’m gone. Currently in the works – roasted tomatoes in the oven and a big ol’ batch of taco soup on the stove. I’ll share that recipe with you soon. It’s yummy too!

In a change of pace….errr, layout, I’ve decided to post this “recipe” at the bottom of things. I didn’t want to interrupt my narration above. 😉

Garlicky Onion and Mushroom Pizza

(Serves 3 – 2 slices each)

  • 1 pizza crust (precooked)
  • 3 heads of garlic (roasted and pureed in a blender or processor – you can reduce this if you’re not that into garlic)
  • .5 cup pizza sauce (we may have used more like 1 cup…but it was a lot!)
  • 1 cup part-skim shredded italian cheese blend (or mozzarella would work too!)
  • .5 onion (sauteed in veggie broth and about 1 tsp of balsamic vinegar)
  • 1 handful (about 15) of mushrooms, sliced (sauteed in veggie broth)

Heat oven to 450. Prepare garlic, onions, and mushrooms as directed above. Top crust with a layer of your roasted garlic puree. A silicone spatula worked well for this part. Next, top entire crust with sauce, leaving about 1/4 of an inch clear around the perimeter to give you some crispy crust. Top with onions and mushrooms. Then, cover with cheese. Next, put the pizza directly onto your oven rack and cook for about 12 minutes, or until your cheese is bubbly and begins to brown.

Back to work for me. Have a terrific Tuesday!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

