Sunday Funday!

19 Sep

Today was such an awesome Sunday. When I woke up this AM, I wasn’t feeling 100% and was afraid I might be coming down with something. So, I lounged around, drank lots of fluids then….decided I would try to make a sweet potato souffle type dish for breakfast. Isn’t that what you do when you don’t feel well? Haha. I might be odd. I definitely have some tweaking to do with this recipe, but it was pretty dang good the first time around. My goal was to make a sweet, decadent souffle type dish that was high in protein and low in sugar. So, in the mix went pureed sweet potato, eggs, cottage cheese, pumpkin pie spice (no sugar!), and a bit of maple syrup. The texture came out more like a bread pudding than a custard which I wasn’t expecting. So, I’ll keep working on this and come back to you with a recipe once it’s perfect!

After the souffle experiment, Mr. Military Man and I decided to do some flea marketing & antiquing today to find some new stuff for our home. Our day started at this huge outdoor flea market up the road. There were probably 50 vendors here – so cool. In one of the booths, we found a big section of toupe carpet for only $5! We really needed a rug for our living room and this offers a very affordable solution until we find exactly what we want. Mr. Military Man also found a “Don’t Tread on Me” license plate that he was stoked about! It’s already being sported on the front of his truck! That was it for us there. But, we decided this whole flea market thing was a lot of fun. So, we continue the adventure…

With a small detour. We stopped at the Navy Exchange to fuel up the car and decided to drop in to do some browsing. We started in furniture, then ended up in accessories – smack dab in front of sunglasses. I’ve had the same pair of sunglasses for 2 years now and I’ve really been wanting something new. I found a pair of Oakley sunglasses that are marvelous! They fit my face perfectly and are so light weight. They’ll be great – especially for days at the beach playing volleyball. Hooray! Mr. Military Man also got a new pair of tortoise shell “gas can” style glasses that are really spiffy. So, another good stop for us here. After this, back on track – flea markets!

We wandered through 2 more shops before deciding that we were starving (it was 2 o’clock after all)! We stopped for a fun brunch then headed straight home to our puppy. I was so worried that she was going to pee in the house. We left her alone all day long. But, she was a good girl, and there was no damage.

Back at home, we laid the carpet, rearranged the living room furniture, repositioned our dining room set, and “decorated” our patio. It was such a productive afternoon/early evening.

Once we were done with that, we were motivated to continue. And, that led us to Lowe’s. There, we picked-up some mulch to lay in the flower bed out front, a flag pole so we can hang our rad Navy flag, and a clearance outdoor rug (only $12!!!). Another successful stop. After we got home and took care of things with our new purchases, it was time for dinner!

We decided we weren’t too hungry since we had a late lunch, so I set out to do something simple and smaller than usual. It turned out great. Just a hodge podge really – basil, roasted garlic shrimp; roasted garlic pods; roasted tomatoes. Yum-o!

The only “recipe” I have to share from all of this is the shrimp. Everything else just involves peeling, dicing, misting with olive oil, and cooking in the oven until gooey and delicious. So, here’s the details on the shrimp.

Basil & Roasted Garlic Shrimp

(serves 2)

16 frozen, uncooked shrimp (or, whatever you decide is one portion times two!)

1 cup vegetable broth

4 basil leaves, finely chopped

3 cloves of roasted garlic, minced

In a skillet, heat the vegetable broth over high heat. When bubbly, add your shrimp. Stir occassionally until shrimp is cooked through. Add basil and garlic. Stir to combine and let cook for about 1-2 minutes. Remove from heat and serve. The sauce was DELICIOUS. I was completely impressed by how well the flavors came together. I did drizzle about 1 tsp of olive oil over the pan and stirred before serving. I think that may have helped, but I’d say that’s optional.

Make this! It takes about 5 minutes and is super tasty!

I poured the shrimp “sauce” over everything. I also may have sipped the leftover sauce from my plate after I was done with my food. 🙂

No, we’re just lounging in the living room watching TV and playing on our laptops. We’ll be off to bed before long. Busy Mondays for both of us tomorrow.

Have a great night!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

