A blogging hiatus…and foil-packet salmon!

9 Sep

So, it looks like I went on a blogging hiatus. It wasn’t planned or anticipated even. I took a couple days off and next thing I know we’re nearly two weeks into September. Sheesh. But, the good news? I’m back! You’re thrilled, I know.

Life has been good here on the homefront. Mr. Military Man and I went up to AR to visit the family over the long Labor Day weekend. It was great. My in-laws have a boat equipped with all the fun accessories – skis, wakeboards, and tubes. We spent a couple days soaking up the sun and playing in the water. Aside from that, we also got a lot of quality time in with my parents, which was awesome. It’s always so nice to be home with family!

Then, Monday came and it was back to FL for us. After what seemed like an eternity in the car, we were FINALLY back in FL.

This week has been full of work, errands, and chores around here. Other than that, I’ve been rushing through Season 3 of Sons of Anarchy on DVD as quickly as possible so I can start watching Season 4. Mr. Military Man introduced me to the series when we moved here in August, and man I’m hooked. I’ve never been so obsessed with a show – and a biker gang drama nonetheless. What’s happening with the world?!

Now, on to today. Work for me. Work and lots of working out for Mr. Military Man. After we wrapped-up those things, we decided to head to the beach. The weather is absolutely beautiful here – sunny and 85. We loaded up and headed out ready for some fun in the sand. However, the water was super cold and there was a major fly infestation. And, can I just say that, in my 20 some odd years of life, I’ve never known flies to bite. But, ouch! These suckers were attacking me like crazy. They felt like little bees. Needless to say, that put a bit of a damper on the outing and we headed back home after only one hour.

It ended up working out though because we actually ate dinner before 7 PM for the first time since we got married. Ha! Tonight on the menu? A hodge podge of things that needed to be cooked and…wild Alaskan salmon. Yum-o!

Foil Packet Salmon

(serves 1)

1 sheet of aluminum foil

1/4 cup vegetable broth

1/4 cup chopped scallion

1 clove chopped garlic

1 filet of salmon

1/2 tsp of seasoning (we used Mrs. Dash Tomato Basil seasoning)

First, heat a cast iron skillet over high heat.

Lay out your sheet of foil and place salmon, scallion, and garlic in the center. Then, fold all of the edges so you have a “dish” of sorts. Pour in your vegetable broth. Pull all sides together, securing the packet. It doesn’t have to be super tight. Just keep everything in there together.

Place foil packet into center of hot cast iron skillet. Add 1 cup of water to skillet so that the water comes about 1/3 of the way up your packet. Let packet boil. If water evaporates, add more. No need to measure. Just make sure it’s bubbling your fish around. After about 8-10 minutes, you should be set (depending on the size of your filet).

Served on the side were some grilled veggies. We simply cut these up, poured on Mrs. Dash Tomato Basil seasoning and threw them into our greased grill pan (we just got this awesome pan from Mr. Military Man’s parents this weekend. We freakin’ love it!).

We really love this foil-packet method of cooking. It actually came to be because our oven was covered in grime when we moved in and would nearly set the house on fire when turned on. So, we decided to take baking to the stove top and figured foil packets with liquid would keep things moist in there. We’ve used it with chicken, shrimp, and veggies too. It all comes out great. And the clean-up is a cinch!

Thanks for sticking around….even though I fell off the face of the earth for a bit. Enjoy your evening, and I’ll see you back here tomorrow.

I’m off to lie in bed and watch more Sons of Anarchy. Yippee!

Have a good one!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

