A grocery marathon and some super garlic shrimp

26 Aug

Me + Blog = MIA

I am not good with consistency, huh? I’m trying. Change takes time. đŸ˜‰

I can’t believe it’s already Friday. Where has this week gone? Tomorrow, assuming Hurricane Irene doesn’t get more upset with the Eastern US, I leave for Boston and will be gone through Wednesday for a work conference. I really don’t want to go. I want to be home. in Florida. With my husband. And our dog. *insert grumpy face here* But, for now, I must go. That being said, there is a good chance I’ll again be missing for a few days. I’m not sure how busy I’ll be there. Or, if I’ll have any time to sneak in fun, non-work adventures.

Moving on…or back.

Yesterday, we did some MAJOR grocery shopping. Since moving to FL, we’ve been buying a few things here-and-there. Just enough for lunch and dinner usually. That leaves us with nothing to prepare and eating out far too often. So yesterday, we were out to put a stop to having nothing in our house. Holy cow did we succeed. We now have our cupboards, fridge, and freezer packed to the gills. Wahoo for that!

After the marathon grocery excursion, we can home to make dinner. For about a week now, I’ve wanted to try out this garlic scallion shrimp dish I came across in a cookbook. I had the shrimp, garlic, and scallions so I was ready to go. But, when I started looking at the recipe, it called for a lot of oil and dry white wine (which I really don’t drink or keep in the house), so I was off to figure out something totally different. The result?

Asian-style Garlic Shrimp with Broccoli

(Serves 2)

  • 16 oz bag of frozen broccoli (fresh could most definitely be substituted…just increase your broth later if needed)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 8 cloves of garlic (I went a little crazy here. You could probably use just 5 or 6)
  • 6 scallions (whites only)
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 6 oz shrimp (peeled and deveined)

Finely chop garlic and scallions (I just stuck to the white parts on these). Set aside. Heat a pan over medium-high heat. Add frozen broccoli. Place lid on pan and allow to cook for about 5 minutes. Remove lid and stir. Add  garlic, scallions, and red pepper to pan. Stir occasionally until softened – about 3-5 minutes. Add vegetable broth and shrimp. Stir occasionally until shrimp is cooked thoroughly.

I sort of overcooked the shrimp when I did it because I added them way too early in the process. I updated that in the recipe. I don’t really know what I was thinking yesterday. Hmm…

We enjoyed our dinner with some piping hot quinoa (my fav!) and some lovely organic wine!

The wine was lighter and fruitier than I expected from a Shiraz, Merlot, Cab blend. I was really in the mood for a bit for spice, so that was a bummer. But, now that I know the taste, it’s something we’ll definitely have again. It’s just light in flavor…sort of like pinot noir!

Today, I have a lot of work to do to get ready for tomorrow’s departure. I also have a lot of laundry, ironing, and packing to do. Oh joy!

Have a fantastic Friday everyone!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

