Cold Pizza, Hot Coffee

17 Aug

Yep. That pretty much sums up my morning:  Hot coffee with a side of cold pizza. Oh, and a side of cold grapes.

We had one lonely piece of leftover veggie pizza in the fridge. I figured now is just as good a time as any to finish it up!

I recently bought a new coffee from Walmart (now that I have no access to Trader Joe’s for our household staples). It was actually their private label organic coffee. I’m so impressed. It’s got a really bold flavor and it’s really smooth. Well done, Walmart. Well done.

So, to bring you up to speed on my disappearance over the weekend. As you know, I was home in Arkansas visiting the family and to attend Lindsay’s bridal shower. Lindsay and I have been friends since college when we were roommates. I couldn’t be happier for her and am so excited to be a part of her wedding so I can be in on the process of everything!

That said, Saturday was spent in bridal shower mode. My step-mom and I started the morning by purchasing nearly an entire case of champagne for the mimosas (They were STRONG!). Then, it was off for last minute manicures, a quick bite, then the shower. The shower was fantastic. It was great to see old friends and catch-up while celebrating with Lindsay. Lindsay has a really great, eclectic, put together sort of style that I don’t believe anyone could ever replicate, and this totally showed through in her registry picks. Among other things, she found an amazing set of dishes by Sophia Conran for Portmeirion. Each piece is handmade so they’re all slightly different in shape and size. Plus, she registered for a mixture of white, yellow, and a blue color. Together, it looks marvelous. I’m so impressed that she thought to put things together in this way!

Ok….that’s Saturday. Saturday night was dinner with the parents, the in-laws, and my sis-in-law. We ate at a local restaurant called Fish City. While I wouldn’t exactly call this place a fine dining experience, they do have tasty margaritas and oyster nachos (sounds weird, I know. But, they’re actually quite good!). After dinner, I was 100% spent. Back to the parents and straight to bed fore me.

Sound the alarms! At 5:30 on Sunday morning, my step-mom and I loaded up in the car to head back to Florida. And, along for the ride was our puppy, Duchess. 14 hours later, after Duchess had successfully peed in every state between AR and FL (um…the trip was supposed to take 11-12 hours. Womp, womp!) we were finally back to our new home in FL. Needless to say, we weren’t up for much more after that. So, we spent a couple of hours unpacking more stuff and went off to bed.

Luckily, Donna (my step-mom) was able to get a couple of days off work to spend time with me here in FL. So, after the workday was done, we were able to fit in some beach time and home shopping. The weather at the beach was perfect, the sun was shining and there was a constant breeze. unfortunately, there was a ton of seaweed/kelp in the water, so the swimming wasn’t as perfect. Luckily – we still had a great time. After that, we went shopping! Donna bought us so much cool stuff for our new place. We got bath rugs, paintings, trashcans (necessities!), accessories, and PLANTS! This i was excited about. I have never gardened/planted in my life, but Donna has one of the greenest thumbs ever. So, she potted some neat things for us to spice up our back deck. We are now the proud owners of a Sago Palm, a random red flower plant, and a Basil plant. Woo hoo! I’ll be sure to put pictures up later. Maybe I’ll even find out the technical name for the “random red flower plant”. To wrap-up the night, Mr. Military Man finally got to come home!!! After 16 hours on the road (he’s a trooper), he arrived. It is so nice to finally have him down here with me!!!

So, another full day for us. Then….Tuesday morning, she had to fly back home to Arkansas. What a bummer. It was so nice having her here, and I hate goodbyes. Hopefully she and my dad are coming back to visit soon though (*hint hint*). After the airport run, it was work as usual followed by a co-op trip with Mr. Military Man. At first, he fought me on the co-op a bit. He was insistent that it had to be more costly than Publix or Walmart. But, to his surprise, we actually saved money on many things we buy, like half-and-half, cereal, fruits, bread, and veggies! Pretty spiffy, eh?

So, that brings us to today! Or, at least to my breakfast of champions….err, cold pizza. Get ready for a return to normal. This evening, we cook! 🙂

Thanks for making it through my small novel this morning. I just felt that I should clue you in on what the heck has been going on these past few days.

See you later!!!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

