Pasta sans pot take deux

9 Aug

Welcome back! I would like to kick things off by saying that I had one stellar pedicure today. There is a little shop in town, Nails by Lynn, which is owned and operated by a local – Lynn! Turns out it is a family business that’s been right here for 21 years now. How awesome is that? I got my pedicure from Lynn herself and OMG….it was decadent. Yes, decadent. My feet are as smooth as a baby’s bottom, and the polish is so new and shiny! Nice afternoon treat. Thank you Lynn!

Anyone hungry? How does another night of one-pan pasta with spinach and other randoms sound? Alright, good.

Tonight’s meal for one?

Quinoa Pasta with Spinach in a Lemon-Garlic Sauce

(serves 1)

  • 1/4 cup of soaked pasta (remember yesterday’s soaking trick to reduce cooking time?)
  • 1 tablespoon of minced garlic (I used the jarred kind since that’s all I’m working with currently)
  • 3 handfuls of spinach
  • 1/4 cup H2O
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • Pinch red pepper flakes

Go ahead and put your pan on the stove over medium heat. When warm, add minced garlic and stir around until slightly browned and fragrant – about 4-5 minutes (If you are using fresh garlic, you’ll probably need to start by coating the bottom of the pan with 1 tbsp of so of oil. Since the minced stuff is all oil soaked, I skipped this step). Add spinach and water. Stir occasionally until spinach has wilted. I kept my heat around medium today so that process took a bit longer – probably a little over 5 minutes. Add pasta, turn heat to high, and stir occasionally until pasta is cooked to your liking. Squeeze in lemon juice and sprinkle with red pepper flakes. This pasta cooking part should take just a few minutes since it’s “pre-cooked” (in a matter of speaking) during the soaking.

I went ahead and topped mine with some parmesan cheese. Luckily, we had no cheese dump disaster like yesterday.

This was a simple, quick little pasta meal. Next time, I’d probably add a bit more lemon to give it a more vibrant tang. But, overall, totally edible and enjoyable. 🙂

Now, as I type this post, I’m on to dessert. I found a little pint of SO Delicious Vanilla Bean Coconut Ice Cream at ……Walmart today! What?! I was so surprised. Obviously, I couldn’t pass up the purchase. Nor could I let it hang out in my freezer unopened. I’m not against dairy – well, not against organic dairy anyhow – but I love the taste of this ice cream. Coconut = delicious. You should probably try it. No, really. Go!

In other equations, King Corn = Documentary success. So, I’m going to follow it up with another thrilling food documentary. What could it be? A film called Ingredients. Hoping it doesn’t disappoint.

Also on tonight’s agenda? This! Notice the “superior grey coverage”?! 😉 Oh, yes…I purchased a $2 towel from Walmart to save our wedding gift towels from dye destruction. Genius, I know!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

