Pasta….sans pot.

8 Aug

First off…..our doorbell doesn’t work. As I sat down to start this post, I noticed one of our neighbors and her little girl walking away down the sidewalk to our door. I jumped up to catch them, but I’m too slow. Darn it. That was awfully nice.

Secondly….let’s talk dinner. Earlier, I was talking to Mr. Military Man about whether or not it might be possible to cook pasta in a pan since our pots are on the moving truck, out in never-never land. He was doubtful, but then suggested if done right – with enough liquid – it could work. That’s all I needed hear! I had a mission!

I knew that soaking oats in cold water overnight made them seem cooked (i.e. they were all mushy), and I figured this same technique might apply to pasta. It did! After about 4 hours of soaking in water, I noticed that the pasta had fluffed-up – as if it was cooked. Time to start dinner!

Quinoa Pasta with Tomato, Spinach, and Garlic

(serves 1)

  • 1/4 cup of water + 1/4 cup of water
  • 1 serving of pasta (I would say I had about 1/3 cup “cooked”)
  • 2 small tomatoes
  • 1 handful of spinach
  • 1 tablespoon of minced garlic (luckily I had some in jar form)
  • 1 tablespoon Garlic Gold nuggets (optional…I love garlic!)
  • salt & pepper to taste

Chop tomatoes – set aside. Place pan over high heat. Add 1/4 cup of water. When water is bubbly, add chopped tomatoes and garlic to pan. Stir occasionally. Once tomatoes become slightly “mushy” (2 minutes of so), reduce heat a tad to medium-high and add spinach. Stir occasionally until spinach has cooked down a bit (about 1-2 minutes). Next, add 1/4 cup of water and your soaked pasta. Let this cook for about 4-5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Once pasta is cooked to your liking, you’re good to go!

I went ahead and topped mine with red pepper flakes and a bit of parmesan cheese. Actually, more like a load of parmesan cheese. I tried to carefully sprinkle the cheese on my pasta, and PLOP went a huge load of it. Oops. I suppose more cheese isn’t such a bad thing.

This was enjoyed with a nice cold glass of iced tea. McDs has $1 iced tea – any size. So, each day, I stock up on a couple large iced teas – no ice. Perfect for enjoying throughout the day. I get SO THIRSTY here in Florida. Must be the wicked heat and humidity. And, I absolutely hate McDs for their dumb food offerings….but I can’t really turn down the $1 UNSWEET tea. I mean, at least they actually brew it from tea bags instead of using that awkward syrupy concentrate stuff that comes out of soda dispensers. Ick!!!

New movie on the agenda tonight:  King Corn. Looks like a couple of guys on a mission to find out how the heck corn gets into nearly everything we Americans consume nowadays. HFCS anyone?!?! Interested to see how it goes.

Until later…

One Response to “Pasta….sans pot.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pasta sans pot take deux « Mindful Muchies with a Military Mrs - August 9, 2011

    […] cup of soaked pasta (remember yesterday’s soaking trick to reduce cooking […]

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

