One empty home and a movie!

6 Aug

Let me start by bringing you up to speed on the current state of my life. Mr. Military Man and I moved to our new home in FL August 1. We did not bring our household goods. Instead, those were sent on a truck. Those goods have yet to arrive. Mr. Military Man had to go back to MD. He’ll be back soon. I am in FL, in our new home, with very limited belongings. I have eaten out at restaurants way too much since August 1. My tummy and my pocketbook hurt from this. Okay, that should do. Now on with the story…

So, what exactly is one gal to do when she is all alone in an empty home 1,000 miles from anyone she knows (our “household goods” are still on a moving truck someone out there and Mr. Military Man is away)? That’s a great question. And, I must admit that, until yesterday evening, I was at a total loss. But, now I’ve got it. Attend random foodie movie night and make delicious food!

Yesterday, after a day of thrilling work from home, I decided to shower, get out of my athletic attire and head out on the town for a happening Friday night for one. On the agenda? The food co-op for movie night and a bit of shopping. The co-op in town, Ever’mans, offers a free movie the first Friday of each month. And, it looks like I moved down here just in time to catch August’s feature – The World According to Monsanto! When I found out via Facebook this would be shown, I was totally in. So, I headed downtown and took a seat, among strangers, for a film that I was sure would leave me feeling more angry with Monsanto and scared for the health of Mr. Military Man and me (and your health too!!!). Boy, was I right. The movie ran two hours and touched on some topics I had remained rather naive about until now. It left me feeling straight-up terrified about eating another restaurant meal (my house is empty, remember? This includes cooking vessels, utensils, and food!).

Therefore, I headed straight into the co-op itself to stock-up on foods that could be prepared with the single pan I smuggled into my car when we drove from MD to FL, plastic utensils, plastic cups, and paper plates that I could also acquire immediately. Creativity was key! Here’s how it ended up:  2 tomatoes, 1 cucumber, 1 avocado, 1 lime, 1 banana, loaf of bread, handful of baby bella mushrooms, 1 crown of broccoli, handful of spinach, and some cooked brown rice from the deli. I had an idea!!!

Fast-forward to today. Wake up around 7 (what is wrong with me? It IS Saturday after all.). Decide coffee is a must, even if it IS 100 degrees outside already. This leads me to purchase coffee from Starbucks with some Organic half-and-half, which I consumed alongside a delicious banana and almond butter sandwich (I also smuggled a single tub of open almond butter into the car for the drive to FL). After that, random errands to gather necessities for the house and a nice, long walk around our stunning neighborhood, filled the afternoon. By 2 o’clock, I was famished and decided it was time to put a food prep plan into motion! Hello drool-worthy, fresh, cool, summery lunch.

Cucumber, Tomato, Avocado Salad!

(Serves 1)

  • .5 avocado (make sure it’s still firm enough to hold up in the salad)
  • 1 tomato
  • .5 small cucumber
  • Juice of .5 lime
  • Dash of ground chipotle
  • salt & pepper to taste, if desired

Chop avocado, tomato, and cucumber into bite sized pieces and place into a plastic cup (or bowl if you’re being all fancy). Squeeze lime juice over all ingredients in cup. Sprinkle chipotle into cup. Stir, stir, stir until all is combined. Put in the fridge for 30 minutes (while you shower after being out in the hot and humid FL heat). Enjoy!

I really loved the different textures in this salad. And, the lime juice added bright zest, while the chipotle added an unexpected smokiness to it all. I ate it up with a piece of bread, which was awesome. This will be coming around again! Especially on these 100+ degree days!!!

All gone!

So, there we go – the first post. It’s a start. A yummy one too. Come back soon. I have a spiffy dinner plan in mind for the rest of yesterday’s groceries!

One Response to “One empty home and a movie!”

  1. Marybeth August 8, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I’m totally making this soon. Sounds delicious! I love the new look of the site, cute!!

C'mon! Tell me what your thinking!

